News from Youth Services Category: We Need Diverse Books

Chef Yasmina and the Potato Panic

chef Yasmina and the potato panic book cover

by Wauter Manneart

J GRAPH MANNEART, W.

Yasmina is a great chef who makes wonderful lunches and dinners for her dad. She gets fresh grown vegetables from her neighbors, until a big company takes away the land they grow their vegetables on. Yasmina and her neighbors have to figure out the secret ingredient the big company is using to make everyone addicted to its food products. Will Yasmina and her friends solve this mystery? Can they get everyone to eat healthy food again? Read the story to find out! 

Best Books 2021

Zoom Program: Best Books: MPPL's Favorite Children's Books of 2021, Thursday, November 18 from 7 to 8 p.m.

As you gear up for your holiday shopping, look no further than the library for the year’s best books for the children in your life. If you missed the presentation, don’t worry– we recorded it so you can watch it at your convenience and learn all about fabulous fiction and nonfiction titles for preschoolers through 6th graders. This event was sponsored by Mount Prospect Public Library Foundation. 

Booklists online:

Best Books for All Ages

Best Books for Prek

Best Books for K-2

Best Books for 2-3

Best Books for 4-6

Honorable Mentions PreK

Honorable Mentions K-2

Honorable Mentions 2-3

Honorable Mentions 4-6

Happy reading!

Cece Rios and the Desert of Souls 

Cece Rios and the Desert of Souls by Kaela Rivera 

Cece Rios and Desert of Souls book cover

This is a story filled with magic, and spirits. Cece is growing up in a desert community that has to protect itself from dark criaturas that menace humans during a specific time every year. Cece’s sister Juana has been stolen by the the darkest criatura of all, and she will do anything to save her. There is danger, adventure, and Cece comes to learn that not all criaturas are dark. She finds out what her powers are and how she can help everyone, human and criatura alike. Will she be able to save Juana? Read more to find out! 

Perfect for fans of Rick Riordan and other myth/folklore inspired stories!

Explore more:

Read an interview with the author.

Participate in a Read Along (watch out for spoilers!)

The Able Fables Series

Louie's Together Playground, Lia's Kind Mind, and Gary's Gigantic Dream book covers (The Able Fables series)

In the Able Fables series by Dr. Nicole Julia, we meet new friends like Gary the Giraffe and Lia the Lion, and learn about what makes each of them unique. A great new series for learning about inclusion, exploring all of our beautiful differences, and learning how to appreciate what makes us exceptional.

Diverse Books for Your Classroom

We recently held a program titled Diverse Books to Share With Your Classroom for educators in our community. Thousands of books are published every year, making it hard sometimes to keep with all the great new titles that could be used in classrooms. Library staff are happy to help by narrowing down the choices and sharing the best of the best with teachers.

We have booklists and curriculum resources for you to keep and use and share with your colleagues. Clicking that link will automatically download a zip file with all the resources.

This program was actually suggested to us by a member of the school community. If you have any other ideas for ways we can support you in your teaching, please get in touch and let us know!