Staff Picks 4 Kids Category: Monarch Nominees

This Way, Charlie

this way, Charlie book cover

This way, Charlie, by Caron Lewis, is fictional narrative about animal rescue, based on a real life story of two orphans, a goat named Jack, and a partially blind horse named Charlie.  This title is a 2022 Monarch nominee!

This Way, Charlie by Caron Levis – Brooklyn Museum Shop

When Charlie arrives at Open Bud Ranch, he can tell that another animal, Jack, seems to like to be all by himself. Their relationship gets a bumpy start,  but when Jack finally summons his courage to be around others, he invites Charlie on a walk to his favorite place. See what happened one stormy night as these two adventurers help protect each other, and become forever friends. 

Jack and Charlie at wild heart ranch wildlife rescue and rehabilitation

The real Jack and Charlie from This way, Charlie. 

Click here to place a hold on This Way, Charlie and check out other stories of unusual animal friends.

What is Chasing Duck?

What Is Chasing Duck? (The Giggle Gang, #1) by Jan Thomas book cover
What Is Chasing Duck? (The Giggle Gang, #1) by Jan Thomas book cover

What is Chasing Duck? by Jan Thomas

A delightful, silly, cumulative story. Duck is being chased by something and runs away as fast as he can. Sheep and Donkey are scared too so they run with Duck. What creature could possibly be chasing them and why? Read the story to find out! Perfect for fans of Elephant and Piggie and other funny early readers.

What is Chasing Duck? is on the 2021 Monarch book list, an annual list of books for K-3 students created by Illinois librarians. Students all over Illinois read books from this list during the year and get to vote on their favorites. We have a display with all the 2021 Monarch books in the Youth Services Department, come check it out and read some excellent books!

Review by Anne W.