Check It Out Category: Fantasy & Sci-Fi

Are Helene Wecker Books for You?

If You Liked These, Try Helene Wecker book collage

If you’ve enjoyed one or more of these titles, Helene Wecker’s imaginative storytelling may be a great match for your reading moods. She blends folklore, adventure, historical fiction, romance, and fantasy with lush worldbuilding and contemporary style. Learn even more by listening firsthand to a virtual conversation Tuesday, June 22, at 7pm. It’s the perfect opportunity to be enchanted!

The Golem and the Jinni series is for you if you liked….

The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern

Why? Irresistible tales of real life infused with magic told in rich, lyrical style

The Amazing Adventures of Kavalier & Clay by Michael Chabon

Why? Expansive, character-driven stories incorporating both mastery of craft and golem lore

Circe by Madeline Miller

Why? Atmospheric historical fantasy drawing from mythology but translated to innovative frame

A Discovery of Witches by Deborah Harkness

Why? Fantastical epics with mystical soul mates that draw readers in to worlds beyond ours

Anansi Boys by Neil Gaiman

Why? Supernatural characters navigate adventures while discovering their place in our world

Jonathan Strange and Mr. Norrell by Susanna Clarke

Why? Equal parts history and mind-bending fantasy presented in complex, rewarding style

The World That We Knew by Alice Hoffman

Why? Full immersion in historical setting combined with thoughtful reimagining of Jewish folklore

Uprooted by Naomi Novik

Why? Enchanted tales inspired by myth from parts of world other than Western Europe

Please join us for an inspiring book conversation:

Helene Wecker program

Stay tuned for more information on our Summer of Author Visits!

Witches in Fiction

Witches in Fiction

Double, double, toil, and trouble, witches abound in fiction! Below we have gathered some recommended witchy reads to hold you spellbound. There are witches from different centuries, locales, and practices, and whether they are the cause of troubles or plagued by them, the boil and bubble promise pure story enchantment.

The Year of the Witching book cover

The Year Of The Witching by Alexis Henderson 

Observing a life of strict submission to minimize discrimination for her mixed heritage, Immanuelle discovers dark truths about her community’s church and her late mother’s secret relationship with the spirits of four witches.

The Once and Future Witches book cover

The Once and Future Witches by Alix E. Harrow

In the late 1800s, three sisters use witchcraft to change the course of history in a Hugo award-winning author’s novel of magic amid the suffragette movement.


The Witches of New York book cover

The Witches of New York by Ami McKay

A tale inspired by Manhattan’s 19th-century witchcraft revival finds a celebrated teahouse proprietress and a gifted medium teaming up with a dream interpreter in the aftermath of a psychic colleague’s disappearance.

Who Fears Death book cover

Who Fears Death by Nnedi Okorafor

Born into post-apocalyptic Africa by a mother who was raped after the slaughter of her entire tribe, Onyesonwu is tutored by a shaman and discovers that her magical destiny is to end the genocide of her people.

The Age of Witches book cover

The Age of Witches by Louisa Morgan

In Gilded Age New York, a centuries-long clash between two magical families ignites when a young witch must choose between love and loyalty, power and ambition, in this magical novel by Louisa Morgan.

The Mercies book cover

The Mercies by Kiran Millwood Hargrave

In Finnmark, Norway, 1617, after 40 fishermen are drowned in the sea, the women of the tiny Arctic town of Vardo must fend for themselves especially when a sinister figure arrives, bringing with him a mighty evil that threatens their very existence.

Summer Reading: Category H. Time Travel

Time Travel - a summer reading challenge category and so much more

Travel certainly looks a bit different this summer. So why not try time travel? “Read a book about time travel” is a category in the Adult Summer Reading Challenge: The Spectacular Reading Race, and we are in the final stretch of 2020’s reading challenge!

Will you be immersing yourself in a book that could transport you? Time travel can have many different flavors, twists, and possibly fiery skid marks! Here is a sampling of some of our favorites:

All Our Wrong Todays book cover

All Our Wrong Todays by Elan Mastai

Living in an alternate world of flying cars, moon bases and plentiful food, aimless Tom Barren is blindsided by an accident of fate that leads to a time-travel mishap that lands him in our less-than-ideal 2016, where he discovers wonderful unexpected versions of his own life.

11/22/63 book cover

11/22/63 by Stephen King

Receiving a horrific essay from a GED student with a traumatic past, high-school English teacher Jake Epping is enlisted by a friend to travel back in time to prevent the assassination of John F. Kennedy, a mission for which he must befriend troubled loner Lee Harvey Oswald.

 

The 7 1/2 deaths of Evelyn Hardcastle book cover

The 7 1/2 Deaths of Evelyn Hardcastle by Stuart Turton

Doomed to repeat the same day over and over, Aiden Bishop must solve the murder of Evelyn Hardcastle in order to escape the curse in a world filled with enemies where nothing and no one are quite what they seem.

This is How You Lose the Time War book cover

This Is How You Lose The Time War by Amal El-Mohtar and Max Gladstone

Among the ashes of a dying world, an agent of the Commandant finds a letter. Thus begins an unlikely correspondence between two rival agents hellbent on securing the best possible future for their warring factions. Now, what began as a battlefield boast, grows into something more. Something epic. Something romantic. Something that could change the past and the future. Except the discovery of their bond would mean death for each of them.

Here And Now And Then book cover

Here And Now And Then by Mike Chen

Stranded for 18 years since the 1990s, time-traveling agent Kin Stewart, suffering from memory loss, has started a new life, but when rescuers from the year 2142 finally arrive, he must choose between his current family and the one he left behind in the future.

Be sure to add all the titles you’ve read between June 1st through August 31st for

Summer Reading on Beanstack!

What Mount Prospect Is Reading

What You've Been Reading image

Mount Prospect, you’ve been reading, and we’ve been talking! Every week we have been extending an open invitation for readers to gather and share the books keeping them company in these odd times. We’ve chatted romance, dark fantasy, nonfiction, mysteries, feel-good, horror, and elegant prose. Check out the titles brought by our attendees, and please consider joining us for this week’s conversation: Let’s Talk Books!

Stay Sweet book cover

Stay Sweet
Siobhan Vivian

Age of Witches book cover

The Age of Witches
Louisa Morgan

Mockingbirds book cover

The Mockingbirds
Daisy Whitney

Dutch House book cover

The Dutch House
Ann Patchett

Tenant book cover

The Tenant
Katrine Engberg

Headliners book cover

Headliners
Lucy Parker

Wow, No Thank You book cover

Wow, No Thank You
Samantha Irby

Beautiful Ones book cover

The Beautiful Ones
Silvia Moreno-Garcia

Writers and Lovers book cover

Writers & Lovers
Lily King

Monster of Elendhaven book cover

The Monster of Elendhaven
Jennifer Giesbrecht

Foul Is Fair book cover

Foul Is Fair
Hannah Capin

Honey-Don't List book cover

The Honey-Don’t List
Christina Lauren

Year of the Witching book cover

The Year of the Witching
Alexis Henderson

Mornings with Rosemary book cover

Mornings with Rosemary
(also published as The Lido)
Libby Page

Vanishing Half book cover

The Vanishing Half
Brit Bennett

All Adults Here book cover

All Adults Here
Emma Straub

New for Book Clubs: Dark Matter, The Name of the Wind, and Redeployment

Book groups come in all sizes and flavors. If you are part of a group that specializes in speculative or gritty stories, or if your ‘traditional’ group is ready for something not quite as traditional, you may be ready to meet one of our newest additions to the Book Discussion collection. These are hand-picked reads ideal for personal enrichment or for group conversation. Check out earlier announcements one, two, and three, and watch for additional announcements each week!

Dark Matter Dark Matter book cover by Blake Crouch

suspenseful, intricately plotted, fast-paced
for fans of Peter Clines, R.J. Pineiro, and Harlan Coben

A mind-bending, relentlessly paced science-fiction thriller, in which an ordinary man is kidnapped, knocked unconscious–and awakens in a world inexplicably different from the reality he thought he knew.

Goodreads Choice Award Runner-up: Best Science Fiction
LibraryReads Favorite
Loan Stars Favourite

Name of the Wind book coverThe Name of the Wind by Patrick Rothfuss

atmospheric, rich world-building, leisurely paced
for fans of Robin Hobb, Brent Weeks, and Terry Goodkind

A hero named Kvothe, now living under an assumed name as the humble proprietor of an inn, recounts his transformation from a magically gifted young man into the most notorious wizard, musician, thief, and assassin in his world.

Publishers Weekly: Best Book of the Year
Alex Award
Reading List Award

Redeployment book coverRedeployment by Phil Klay

candid, haunting, darkly humorous
for fans of Tim O’Brien, Karl Marlantes, and Joseph Heller

A collection of short stories by a former Marine captain and Iraq veteran focuses on the complexities of life for soldiers on the front lines and after, exploring themes ranging from brutality and faith to guilt and survival.

National Book Award: Best Fiction
National Book Critics Circle Award
Time Magazine: Best Book of the Year